"I believe in as wide a range of musical involvements as is feasible given the reality of life."


(b. 1934)

An American composer with a degree in engineering physics, Reynolds is a very eclectic and experimental artist whose work explores the boundaries of space, perception, and technology. Musically influenced by the American Experimentalists and the Second Viennese School, many of his works are built around texts dervied from mythology and postmodern literature, and his impressive catalog covers a wide range of musical territory from string quartets to multimedia productions involving computers, video, dance and theater. Among numerous other awards and commissions, he won the 1989 Pulitzer Prize for his Whispers Out of Time for string orchestra. Watershed, a "pathbreaking exploration of the new DVD medium," was released by Mode Records in January of 1999 and features his music. He is currently professor of music at the University of California at San Diego.

A student of Ross Lee Finney and a friend to the late Toru Takemitsu, it would ony seem natural that Reynolds weigh in here with a Joyce-related composition; although he notes that of all modernist and postmodern authors, "Joyce (while evidently of interest) is the one whose words I have employed least, perhaps precisely because so many others have focused on him." Beckett, Borges, Kundera and García Márquez also figure highly in his work.

Shadowed Narrative by

Roger Reynolds

Bios   |   News   |   Listen   |   Gallery   |   Repertoire   |   Concerts   |   Contact

notes about the piece here..


© Malcom Crowthers